Johnston, Daniel - Songs Of Pain (2LP Vinyl)


| /


Daniel Johnston - Songs Of Pain (2LP Vinyl)

Songs of Pain is the first album by folk singer-songwriter Daniel Johnston, recorded on a simple tape recorder and released on cassette. This is the album's first time being pressed on vinyl. Back in the early 1980s, when the punk-rock DIY spirit was going strong, emerging artists found a cheap and efficient way of distributing their music-the homemade cassette. Sometimes very crude and low-fi, the tapes became a hallmark of instant "indie cred." The erratic, troubled, and startlingly talented Daniel Johnston was one of the first musicians to really make a name for himself in this medium, and his first two tapes.

Track listing:

A1 Grievances
A2 A Little Story
A3 Joy Without Pleasure
A4 Never Relaxed
A5 Brainwash
A6 Pothead
A7 Wicked World

B1 Lazy
B2 I Save Cigarette Butts
B3 Like A Monkey In A Zoo
B4 Wicked Will
B5 An Idiots End
B6 Wild West Virginia

C1 Since I Lost My Tooth
C2 Urge
C3 Living Life
C4 Tuna Ketchup
C5 Premarital Sex
C6 Don't Act Nice
C7 Hate Song
(Previously Unreleased Tracks)

D1 Lead Belly Was An Outlaw
D2 I Love You (I'd Like To Read You Some Poetry)
D3 Why Don't You Love Me True
D4 I'm A Rambling Kinda Guy
D5 Sleepy Lagoon
D6 Natalie Queen Of Weirton
D7 Golly Gee
D8 You Need A Reason

$10 postage. Free shipping on orders over $150.

* Our Collingwood shop has large selection of vinyl with over 1,000 titles to choose from.

Type: Vinyl

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review