Soul Jazz Records - Studio One Women (Yellow Coloured Vinyl)


– Sold Out

| /

Soul Jazz Records - Studio One Women (Yellow Coloured Vinyl)

Soul Jazz Records' classic 'Studio One Women' collection is now available in a new limited-edition coloured pressing 17th anniversary format edition! A heavyweight gatefold special edition yellow 2xLP vinyl + download.

Until now most of these tracks have only been available as extremely hard to find Jamaican 7 inch and 12 inch singles and even if you were lucky enough to find them they'd cost you a small fortune. Marcia Griffiths and Rita Marley (here with her first group The Soulettes) are two of Jamaica's most famous female singers hugely popular today. Both these artists became internationally famous as The I - Threes (with Judy Mowatt), Bob Marley's backing singers alongside The Wailers. Also featured are Hortense Ellis, sister of Alton who cut many smash hits on the island, and Jennifer Lara, a lady who had a long career with Studio One, singing on countless sides. Studio One is the greatest label in the history of reggae and is the foundation of all reggae music. It's where virtually every world renowned Jamaican superstar started out, Bob Marley and The Wailers included. Under the guidance of the legendary Clement Coxsone Dodd the musicians at Studio One recorded hundreds of instrumental rhythms which still provide the backbone for many of the records made in Jamaica today


1. Give Love Another Try - Claudette McLean

2. My Man - Jennifer Lara

3. A Deh Pon Dem - The Soulettes

4. Dream Land - Della Humphrey

5. Consider Me - Jennifer Lara

6. War No Right - Denise Darlington

7. I'm Just a Girl - Hortense Ellis

8. No Bother With No Fuss - Angela Prince

9. There's a Chance for Me - Jerry Jones

10. King Street - The Soulettes

11. Tell Me Where - Jennifer Lara

12. I'll Give It to You - The Tonettes

13. Tell Me Now - Marcia Griffiths

14. Come to Me - Jay Tees

15. You a Fool Boy - Angela Prince

16. I Am in Love - Jennifer Lara

Type: Vinyl