Arnalds, Olafur - Island Songs (Vinyl)


| /

1 COPY LEFT (Online & Collingwood Shop)

Olafur Arnalds - Island Songs (Vinyl)

Olafur Arnalds teams up with Mercury Classics to bring you a unique and evolving audio-visual portrait of his home country of Iceland.

This project is on a scale that has never been attempted in the classical music world before.

Island Songs is the innovative brainchild of BAFTA award winning composer Olafur Arnalds, alongside acclaimed film director Baldvin Z (BBCs Trapped, Life in a Fish Bowl).

Olafur traveled to 7 towns across Iceland where he collaborated with 7 local artists, and at each location he created, recorded and performed a new composition with the artist. He delivered the audio and video the following day. Mercury Classics released one audio track and one live performance video each Monday.

Island Songs is a real-time interactive project that will evolve in the digital space, hosted via a bespoke website. Arnalds dedicated fanbase was able to follow him on his travels via Facebook live-streams, Snapchats, Instagram, Twitter and Apple Connect.

Olafurs journey was also be chronicled by acclaimed film director Baldvin Z. The 7-week period resulted in an hour-long music film, including conversations exploring music, history and identity, to create a powerful musical portrait of their native land.

This is the most ambitious project that Olafur has ever undertaken, creatively and logistically.


  1. Árbakkinn (With Einar Georg Einarsson)
  2. 1995 (With Dagny Arnalds)
  3. Raddir (With South Iceland Chamber Choir)
  4. Öldurót (With Atli Örvarsson & Sinfonianord)
  5. Dalur (With Brasstríó Mosfellsdals
  6. Particles (With Nanna Bryndís Hilmarsdóttir)
  7. Doria

Type: Vinyl

Click & Collect 7 Days 11am-5pm
Careful Packing We ship safely
Highly Rated Google 4.9 Stars
Gift Vouchers Online & Instore