August Greene - August Greene (Limited Pale Moon On Bone Coloured 2LP Vinyl)


| /


August Greene - August Greene (Limited Pale Moon On Bone Coloured 2LP Vinyl)

In early 2016, musicians Common, Robert Glasper and Karriem Riggins found themselves in the studio, crafting the soulful backdrop of Common's 11th album, the politically charged Black America Again. The three friends had known each other since the late 1990s, so the camaraderie felt organic. "It was such a real form of expression," says Common, who's earned three GRAMMYs, an Oscar, a Golden Globe and an Emmy. "It felt natural. We all have an affinity for great music." As the trio created, they began to notice something different taking shape‚" something rooted in the warm R&B sounds of yesteryear but still very much in the present. It was soul music with a modern bounce, a jazz-rap hybrid in the spirit of A Tribe Called Quest. This is black expression the way God intended: earnest, unfiltered, and harmonious. Throughout August Greene, you feel the abundance of Glasper's rolling keys, the sheer honesty of Com's lyrics, and the nuanced subtlety of Riggins' drum work. It's a fluid sound that's sorely needed in today's landscape, and a teachable moment for the next wave of creators.


  1. Meditation
  2. Black Kennedy
  3. Let Go (featuring Samora Pinderhughes)
  4. Practice (featuring Samora Pinderhughes)
  5. Fly Away
  6. Aya
  7. Piano Interlude
  8. No Apologies
  9. The Time
  10. Optimistic
  11. Swisha Suite

Type: Vinyl