Daisy Age Compilation (2LP Vinyl)


| /

1 COPY LEFT (Online & Collingwood Shop)

Daisy Age Compilation (2LP Vinyl)

It wasn't really a movement, barely even a moment, but the Daisy Age was an ethos that permeated pop, R&B and hip hop at the turn of the '90s. Playfulness and good humor were central to de la Soul's 1989 debut album, 3 Feet High And Rising, which would go on to cast a long, multi-colored shadow over rap. In Britain, the timing for 3 Feet High And Rising couldn't have been better. The acid house explosion of 1988 would lead to a radical breaking down of musical barriers in 1989, and it's associated look - loose clothing, dayglo colors, smiley faces - chimed with the positivity of de la Soul and rising New York rap acts the Jungle Brothers and A Tribe Called Quest, all at the heart of a growing collective called Native Tongues.

The Native Tongues' charismatic, summery aura quickly spread west to the Bay Area's similarly-minded Hieroglyphics crew (Del Tha Funky Homosapien's 'Mistadobalina'); Canada's Dream Warriors ('My Definition Of A Boombastic Jazz Style') used 3 Feet High"s color palette and borrowed Count Basie and Quincy Jones riffs; Naughty By Nature (OPP) were mentored by Native Tongues heroine Queen Latifah, while Londoner Monie Love was also adopted by the collective, resulting in her Grammy-nominated 'It's A Shame (My Sister)'. It wasn't built to last, but the Daisy Age reintroduced Multiplication Rock, bubble writing and the gently psychedelic into the charts. It was a brief, but extraordinarily warm and optimistic moment. The songs on this collection promised that the '90s would be a lot more easy-going than the '80s.



  1. A Roller Skating Jam Named Saturdays - de la Soul Featuring Q-Tip & Vinia Mojica
  2. Bonita Applebum - a Tribe Called Quest
  3. Sunshine Men - the Freestyle Fellowship
  4. Mistadobalina - Del Tha Funkeé Homosapien
  5. What's Up Doc? (Can We Rock?) (K-Cut's Fat Trac Remix) - Fu-Schnickens with Shaquille O'Neal (Shaq-Fu)
  6. Doowutchyalike - Digital Underground
  7. Peachfuzz - KMD
  8. Doin' Our Own Dang - Jungle Brothers
  9. Mama Gave Birth to the Soul Children - Queen Latifah Featuring de la Soul
  10. O.P.P. - Naughty By Nature


  1. Where I'm from - Digable Planets
  2. It's a Shame (My Sister) - Monie Love Featuring True Image
  3. K Sera Sera - Justin Warfield
  4. All for One - Brand Nubian
  5. Case of the P.T.A. - Leaders of the New School
  6. My Definition of a Boombastic Jazz Style (Album Version) - Dream Warriors
  7. The Choice Is Yours (Revisited) - Black Sheep
  8. Age Ain't Nothin' But a # - Chi-Ali
  9. We Run Things (It's Like Dat) - Da Bush Babees
  10. You're Not Coming Home (Mase's Funkay Recall Mix) - Groove Garden

Type: Vinyl

Click & Collect 7 Days 11am-5pm
Careful Packing We ship safely
Highly Rated Google 4.9 Stars
Gift Vouchers Online & Instore