Davis, Betty - Betty Davis (Coke Bottle Clear Vinyl)

Betty Davis

Betty Davis - Betty Davis (Coke Bottle Clear Vinyl)

Pre order now, this title has been delayed and is now set for an 22nd of September release. As this is an import, we may have stock a week later.

Please note : If you pre-order an item and add more items in stock, we will ship the order together when the pre-order arrives. Release dates are subject to change and will be updated on the website.

One can hardly imagine the genre-busting, culture-crossing musical magic of Outkast, Prince, Erykah Badu, Rick James, The Roots, or even the early Red Hot Chili Peppers without the influence of R&B pioneer Betty Davis. Her style of raw and revelatory punk-funk defies any notions that women can't be visionaries in the worlds of rock and pop. In recent years, rappers from Ice Cube to Talib Kweli to Ludacris have rhymed over her intensely strong but sensual music.

There is one testimonial about Betty Davis that is universal: she was a woman ahead of her time. In our contemporary moment, this may not be as self-evident as it was thirty years ago – we live in an age that's been profoundly changed by flamboyant flaunting of female sexuality: from Parlet to Madonna, Lil Kim to Kelis. Yet, back in 1973 when Betty Davis first showed up in her silver go-go boots, dazzling smile and towering Afro, who could you possibly have compared her to? Marva Whitney had the voice but not the independence. Labelle wouldn't get sexy with their "Lady Marmalade" for another year while Millie Jackson wasn't Feelin' Bitchy until 1977. Even Tina Turner, the most obvious predecessor to Betty's fierce style wasn't completely out of Ike's shadow until later in the decade.

Originally released in 1973. She kicked off her cosmic career with an amazing set of progressive hard funk and sweet soul. This self-titled debut showcased Betty Davis' fiercely unique talent. This album was recorded with Sly & The Family Stone's rhythm section, sharply produced by Sly Stone drummer Greg Errico and features backing vocals from Sly and the Pointer Sisters. Comes on coke bottle clear vinyl and includes booklet with rare photos, lyrics and liner notes.


  1. Shoo-B-Doop and Cop Him
  2. He Was a Big Freak
  3. Your Mama Wants Ya Back
  4. Don't Call Her No Tramp
  5. Git in There
  6. They Say I'm Different
  7. 70's Blues
  8. Special People

Category: Pre-Order

Type: Records & LPs