Gilberto, Joao - Essential Works 1958-1962 (2LP Vinyl)


| /


Joao Gilberto - Essential Works 1958-1962 (2LP Vinyl)

João Gilberto was born in 1931 in Brazil in the state of Bahia in Brazil, where he learned to play the guitar. He began his singing career on radio in Rio de Janeiro, and in 1957 he met Antonio Carlos Jobim. It was a decisive encounter, because Jobim would give him the chance to accompany Elizeth Cardoso and write songs for her.

A new spirit was taking hold in the bars and clubs of Rio, where Vinicius de Moraes, Tom Jobim, Dorival Caymmi, Elizeth Cardoso, Maysa and Baden Powell — and soon João Gilberto - were developing a new style that embraced the vibrations of a whole young generation of Brazilians. The name of this new life force was Bossa Nova, the name given to music that featured relaxed rhythms and mingled sadness with new hope. It was this newness that João incarnated right from his first album entitled Chega de saudade (released in 1959). It was an immensely successful record, and its popularity spread far beyond Brazil.

In the USA, the Bossa Nova wave touched every musician in jazz, from Stan Getz and Charlie Byrd to Quincy Jones, Herbie Mann and others including Lalo Schifrin (cf. the Masters of Jazz album Jazz Bossa Nova). The three albums that Joao Gilberto recorded between 1958 and 1962 formed the foundations of the style was later recognized throughout the world as Bossa Nova.



  1. Chega De Saudade
  2. Lobo Bobo
  3. Brigas Nunca Mais
  4. Ho-ba-la-la
  5. Saudade Fez Um Samba
  6. Maria Ninguém
  7. Aos Pes Da Cruz
  8. Rosa Morena
  9. Morena Boca De Ouro
  10. Bim Bom   
  11. Desafinado   
  12. É Luxo Só
  13. Manhã de Carnaval
  14. O Nosso Amor
  15. A Felicidade
  16. Samba De Uma Noto So
  17. Doralice
  18. Só Em Teus Braços
  19. Trevo de 4 Folhas
  20. Se E Tarde Me Perdoa


  1. Meditaçāo
  2. Um Abraço No Bonfá
  3. O Pato
  4. Corcovado   
  5. Discussao   
  6. Amor Certinho
  7. Outra Vez
  8. Bolinha De Papel
  9. Samba Da Minha Terra
  10. Saudade De Bahia
  11. O Barquinho
  12. Trenzinho (Trem De Ferro)
  13. Presente De Natal
  14. Insensatez   
  15. O Amor Em Paz
  16. Coisa Mais Linda
  17. Você E Eu
  18. A Primeira Vez
  19. Este Seu Olhar

$10 postage. Free shipping on orders over $150.

* Our Collingwood shop has large selection of vinyl with over 1,000 titles to choose from.

Type: Vinyl

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet