Groove Theory - Groove Theory (2LP Vinyl)


| /


Groove Theory - Groove Theory (2LP Vinyl)

The New York pair, consisting of singer/songwriter Amel Larrieux, and producer Bryce Wilson, (A veteran of the legendary 80s electronic group Mantronix) helped set the tone for neo-soul via their lone studio release, the self-titled Groove Theory. The nearly hour-long record features 14 tracks of Wilson's smooth soul arrangements and atmospherics merged with golden era boom-bap beats, and Larrieux's siren-quality vocals, inspired equally by a combination of Native Tongues, peak Marvin Gaye, Joan Armatrading, Soul II Soul, as well as elements of breakbeat, jazz fusion, and even trip hop. It's a definitive, but often overlooked classic of the 1990s, which helped expand contemporary R&B's sound, render Billboard hits out the tracks "Tell Me" (Which peaked at #5 on the Billboard Hot 100), "Keep Tryin'", and "Baby Luv", and even found the time for a Todd Rundgren cover.


    1. 10 Minute High
    2. Time Flies 
    3. Ride 
    4. Come Home 
    5. Baby Luv
    6. Tell Me 
    7. Hey U
    8. Hello It's Me
    9. Good 2 Me 4
    10. Angel 
    11. Keep Tryin' 
    12. You're Not The 1 
    13. Didja Know 
    14. Boy At The Window

Type: Vinyl