Japanese Jazz Spectacle - Vol. II Deep, Heavy and Beautiful Jazz from Japan 1962-1965 (2LP Vinyl)


| /


Japanese Jazz Spectacle - Vol. 2 Deep, Heavy and Beautiful Jazz from Japan 1962-1965 (2LP Vinyl)

Following the highly acclaimed first volume in the series, Japanese jazz expert Yusuke Ogawa continues the WaJazz exploration with another essential collection of music that contains something uniquely Japanese — focusing this time on the King Records catalog. Featuring timeless music by Isao Suzuki, Toshiaki Yokota, Akira Miyazawa, Takeru Muraoka, Yasuaki Shimizu, Masahiko Togashi, George Otsuka, and more!

“It is my great pleasure to introduce you to the second volume of the “Japanese Jazz Spectacle” series. Following the first compilation which focuséd on recordings from the Nippon Columbia catalog, this time we are digging into the King Records archives. It is almost impossible to capture the whole picture of Wa-Jazz in a couple of compilation albums since it is such a broad and deep genre, however, by extracting tracks from the Nippon Columbia and King Records collections – both labels having an extensive archive of jazz music – we may be able to glimpse a part of its allure and essence. This time again, I have made the music selection with this idea in mind. The music in this compilation was recorded between 1962 and 1985 and is a brief history of Japanese jazz on King Records. Listening is believing, so I hope these tracks will capture your heart and that you will enjoy the charms of Japanese jazz.” – Yusuke Ogawa


01. Clair Deluge — Toshiaki Yokota & The Beat Generation
02. Constant Rain — Tadao Sawai & Toshiyuki Miyama & New Herd Orchestra
03. Yamame — Akira Miyazawa
04. Ma Mère L'Oye — Various Artists
05. Blossom In The Water — Masao Yagi
06. A Day Of The Sun — Masahiko Togashi & Isao Suzuki
07. Summer Wind — Yasuko Nagamine & Yasuaki Shimizu
08. Sayonara Blues — Hideo Shiraki
09. Desireless — Masahiko Togashi & His Improvisation Jazz Orchestra
10. Lady Boogie — Takeru Muraoka & His New Group
11. Down To The Sea — Yoshio Ikeda
12. Loving You — George Otsuka Quintet

Type: Vinyl