Jean, Laura - Amateurs (Limited White Coloured Vinyl)

Laura Jean

Laura Jean - Amateurs (Limited White Coloured Vinyl)

Pre order now for a 4th of November release.

Please note : If you pre-order an item and add more items in stock, we will ship the order together when the pre-order arrives. Release dates are subject to change and will be updated on the website.

Revered Sydney songwriter Laura Jean returns with new album Amateurs, her first record since the much-celebrated Devotion in 2018.

Amateurs is a stunning, string-laden album, set at a mystical midway point between the deep synth-pop of Devotion and the folkier sounds of Laura’s earlier work. The album features backing vocals from Aldous Harding and Marlon Williams on three songs ('Teenager Again', 'Amateurs' and 'Folk Festival').

Laura worked with producer Tim Bruniges around Sydney’s long 2020- 2021 lockdowns. Erkki Veltheim (Gurrumul, Cat Power) arranged gorgeous strings for the album, which were recorded in Melbourne by Devotion producer John Lee.

Amateurs is an album about anti-art and anti-intellectual culture in Australia (but applies equally to other parts of the world). It sees Laura questioning her role as a songwriter and examining the reality of her choices to prioritise art over other parts of her life. It is also a warmhearted, humorous and sonically breathtaking album.

Amateurs means to do something for love, not money, and somehow it’s become a dirty word, shorthand for a failure,” says Laura. “These songs arise from my acceptance that I will always be an ‘amateur’.


  1. Teenager Again
  2. Amateurs
  3. Too Much To Do
  4. Folk Festival
  5. Market On the Sand
  6. Pauly
  7. Rainbow Club
  8. Rock'n'Roll Holiday
  9. A Funny Thing Happened
  10. Something To Look Forward To Forever

$10 postage. Free shipping on orders over $150.

* Our Collingwood shop has large selection of vinyl with over 1,000 titles to choose from.

Category: Pre-Order

Type: Vinyl