Lekman, Jens - Linden Trees Are Still In Blossom (Clear 2LP Vinyl)


| /

1 COPY LEFT (Online & Collingwood Shop)

Jens Lekman - Linden Trees Are Still In Blossom (Clear 2LP Vinyl)

The reissue of "Night Falls Over Kortedala".

“All my friends were playing in these bass-guitar-drum bands,” speaks Jens Lekman, casting his mind back over twenty years to his first rudimentary experiments with sampling using his father’s old cassette recorder, and an instinct to create music that would set him far apart from his Swedish pop peers. “I’m going to sound like Scott Walker. But I’m going to do it in my bedroom.”

Works of sweeping, maximalist, orchestral wonder sung in a sumptuous tenor, weaving lifts from obscure fleamarket vinyl records with by turns burningly romantic and mordantly funny true-life tales from the sleepy-shadowy suburbs of Gothenburg – Lekman’s early songs come from a different time, a different place. An era when the internet was young, limitless and disruptive, sample culture was turning music inside out, and anything felt possible.

After initially finding an audience through peer-to-peer file sharing sites, Lekman signed to Secretly Canadian Records in 2003, and went on to release a slew of cherished material, including three cult limited-edition EPs – Maple Leaves, Rocky Dennis and Julie – later collected on the 2005 compilation album Oh You’re So Silent Jens. His DIY fantasias found their fullest and most celebrated form in 2007 on his second album proper, the exquisite Night Falls Over Kortedala – Lekman’s self-professed “dream record”. It went to number one in Sweden and was later hailed as one of the 200 best albums of the 2000s by Pitchfork, as well as one of the top 100 albums of the 21st century so far by The Guardian.

Now, like Oh You’re So Silent Jens, it no longer exists in its original form.

Oh You’re So Silent Jens enigmatically disappeared in 2011; Night Falls Over Kortedala followed suit in early 2022. Lekman’s impulse for giving old music fresh life and context has led him to remake the records under new names, each delicately positioned in dialogue with the past – the same albums, just different. The Cherry Trees Are Still In Blossom and The Linden Trees Are Still In Blossom are a pair of lovingly and painstakingly assembled reduxes each keeping the same core tracklisting, spirit and source material as the originals, but blending brand new versions of some tracks, in part or in whole, together with many tracks left largely as they were. Both records are fleshed out with rare, previously unreleased, and even previously unfinished old songs, as well as other contemporaneous material such as cassette diaries.


  • 1. And I Remember Every Kiss
  • 2. Sipping On the Sweet Nectar
  • 3. The Opposite of Hallelujah
  • 4. A Postcard to Nina
  • 5. Into Eternity
  • 6. I'm Leaving You Because I Don't Love You
  • 7. If I Could Cry (It Would Feel Like This)
  • 8. Your Arms Around Me
  • 9. Shirin
  • 10. It Was a Strange Time in My Life
  • 11. Kanske Ar Jag Kär I Dig
  • 12. Friday Night at the Drive-in Bingo
  • 13. Your Beat Kicks Back Like Death
  • 14. Our Last Swim in the Ocean
  • 15. A Little Lost
  • 16. Radio NRJ
  • 17. The Linden Trees Are Still in Blossom
  • 18. When I'm Swimming

  • Type: Vinyl

    Click & Collect 7 Days 11am-5pm
    Careful Packing We ship safely
    Highly Rated Google 4.9 Stars
    Gift Vouchers Online & Instore