Madlib - Medicine Show No.5 - History Of The Loop Digga: 1990-2000 (Limited RSD Essential Indie Colorway Sky Blue 2LP Vinyl)


| /

1 COPY LEFT (Online & Collingwood Shop)

Madlib - Medicine Show No.5 - History Of The Loop Digga: 1990-2000 (Limited RSD Essential Indie Colorway Sky Blue 2LP Vinyl)

The Madlib Medicine Show series is a combination of Madlib's new hip-hop productions, remixes, beat tapes, and jazz, as well as mixtapes of funk, soul, Brazilian, psych, jazz and other undefined forms of music from the Beat Konducta's 4-ton stack of vinyl.

Back in the 90s, “beat tapes,” as a Hip Hop producer’s demo-reel is now quaintly referred to, were literally that: cassette tapes of beats that a producer made either for himself, his friends, or for potential collaborators. As you can imagine, Madlib made a bunch of ‘em in the days between his early productions for the Alkaholiks (circa ’92) and the release of his Quasimoto album (2000) – after which he took a couple of years off of the beats to focus on making jazz music with his fictional five piece, Yesterdays New Quintet.

This collection of beats showcases the way that Madlib’s early Hip Hop demos were filtered out to his friends and associates and provides an opportunity for a unique view into Madlib’s working process: these beats, often freestyled on whatever machine he had at the ready, were picked up by rappers over a period of many years. Trainspotters will find it interesting that beats later destined for the likes of Wildchild and Percee P were made some years before those albums saw release.

This album is punctuated with a series of early solo-raps by Madlib and his Quasimoto alter ego and features the cadre known collectively as CDP – those rappers who worked side by side with Madlib during the days of his Oxnard-based “Crate Diggas Palace” studios.



  1. Warning (Intro)
  2. Static Invazion
  3. Stakeout
  4. Rapper X Radio
  5. Last Day's Music
  6. Nothing From Nothing
  7. Episode VII
  8. Episode VIII
  9. Episode IX
  10. Episode X
  11. Episode XI
  12. Episode XII
  13. Episode XIII
  14. Episode XIV
  15. Episode XV
  16. Episode XVI
  17. Episode XVII
  18. Episode XVIII


  1. Episode XIX
  2. Episode XX
  3. Further Adventures Of Walkman Flavor
  4. Episode XXII
  5. Episode XXIII
  6. Episode XXIV
  7. Episode XXV
  8. Episode XXVI
  9. Episode XXVII
  10. Live From Outer Space
  11. Real Days
  12. C.D.P. Assassins Pt. 1
  13. C.D.P. Assassins Pt. 2 & 3
  14. C.D.P. Assassins Pt. 4
  15. C.D.P. Assassins Pt. 5
  16. C.D.P. Assassins Pt. 6

Type: Vinyl

Click & Collect 7 Days 11am-5pm
Careful Packing We ship safely
Highly Rated Google 4.9 Stars
Gift Vouchers Online & Instore