Mitchell, Joni - Song to a Seagull (Yellow Coloured Vinyl)


| /


Mitchell, Joni - Song to a Seagull (Yellow Coloured Vinyl)

Joni Mitchell has established herself as one of the most-talented songwriters of her generation. Song To A Seagull was Joni Mitchell’s debut album, originally released in 1968. The two sides of the LP are la-belled ‘I Came to the City’ and ‘Out of the City and Down to the Seaside’.

Already it was apparent that here was an immense lyrical talent. Her great melodic gift developed more fully later on, as these are fairly standard-fare folk items. still, few writers had used such a conversational style in song, and for that alone, this was a milestone of a record. The listener was encouraged and welcomed into a stream of dialogue and tales without needing to know what they were all about.

The original mix has been recently updated by Mitchell and mixer Matt Lee. “The original mix was atrocious,” says Mitchell. “It sounded like it was recorded under a jello bowl, so I fixed it!”


  1. I Had a King (2021 Remaster)
  2. Michael from Mountains (2021 Remaster)
  3. Night in the City (2021 Remaster)
  4. Marcie (2021 Remaster)
  5. Nathan La Franeer (2021 Remaster)
  6. Sisotowbell Lane (2021 Remaster)
  7. The Dawntreader (2021 Remaster)
  8. The Pirate of Penance (2021 Remaster)
  9. Song to a Seagull (2021 Remaster)
  10. Cactus Tree (2021 Remaster)

Type: Vinyl