Monite, Steve - Only You (Vinyl Reissue)


| /


Steve Monite - Only You (Vinyl Reissue)

Limited 180gm vinyl LP pressing. Following on from 2016's Doing It In Lagos: Boogie, Pop & Disco in 1980s Nigeria, Soundway Records return to that blistering set for the first and only officially licensed reissue of the highly coveted debut album from Steve Monite, featuring the single 'Only You' that recently seeped it's way into popular culture. Lovingly restored and remastered. Shooting, space-synth sounds ripple and vibrate, incessant grooves keep the tracks in motion and Nkono Teles production, a producer often overlooked for his hand in the Nigerian boogie sound, sets the LP into orbit. An album that was largely overlooked on release in 1984, the track list includes the latter day hit 'Only You' (recently covered by Frank Ocean as well as Tame Impala) and 'Things Fall Apart', the melody of which was lifted for Young Franco's 2020 single 'Fallin' Apart'.


  1. Only You
  2. I Had A Dream
  3. Things Fall Apart
  4. Welcome My Love
  5. Only You (Disco Jam)
  6. Things Fall Apart (Vocal)


Type: Vinyl