Reed, Lou - Words & Music, May 1965 (Deluxe 2LP / 7" Vinyl / CD Edition)

Lou Reed

Lou Reed - Words & Music, May 1965 (Deluxe 2LP / 7" Vinyl / CD Edition)

Pre order now for a 26th of August release. As this is an import, we will have stock a week after this release date.

Please note : If you pre-order an item and add more items in stock, we will ship the order together when the pre-order arrives. Release dates are subject to change and will be updated on the website.

The centerpiece of the inaugural Lou Reed Archive Series release is the Deluxe 45-RPM Double LP Edition of Words & Music, May 1965. Limited to 7,500 copies worldwide, this stunning collection was designed by multi-GRAMMY®-winning artist Masaki Koike and features a stylized, die-cut gatefold jacket manufactured by Stoughton Printing Co., with sequential foil numbering. Housed inside are two 45-RPM 12-inch LPs, pressed on HQ-audiophile-quality 180-gram vinyl at Record Technology Inc. (RTI) featuring the only vinyl release of “I’m Waiting for the Man – May 1965 Alternate Version.”

A bonus 7-inch, housed in its own unique die-cut picture sleeve and manufactured at Third Man Record Pressing includes the only vinyl release of six previously-unreleased bonus tracks providing a never-before-seen glimpse into Reed’s formative years, including early demos, a cover of Bob Dylan’s “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right,” and a doo-wop serenade recorded in 1958 when the legendary singer-songwriter was just sixteen years old. An accompanying saddle-stitched, die-cut 28-page book features lyrics, archival photos, and liner notes Also included is an archival reproduction of a rarely-seen letter, written by Reed to his college professor and poet, Delmore Schwartz, circa 1964.

The set includes a CD containing the complete audio from the package, housed in a die-cut jacket.



  1. I'm Waiting for the Man [May 1965 Demo]
  2. Men of Good Fortune [May 1965 Demo]
  3. Heroin [May 1965 Demo]
  4. Too Late [May 1965 Demo]
  5. Buttercup Song [May 1965 Demo]
  6. Walk Alone [May 1965 Demo]
  7. Buzz Buzz Buzz [May 1965 Demo]
  8. Pale Blue Eyes [May 1965 Demo]
  9. Stockpile [May 1965 Demo]
  10. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams [May 1965 [Demo]
  11. I'm Waiting for the Man [May 1965 Alternate Version] (Bonus track only on this deluxe edition)

7" Vinyl:

  1. Gee Whiz [1958 Rehearsal]
  2. Baby, Let Me Follow You Down [1963/64 Home Recording]
  3. Michael, Row The Boat Ashore [1963/64 Home Recording]
  4. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right (Partial) [1963/64 Home Recording]
  5. W & X, Y, Z Blues [1963/64 Home Recording]
  6. Lou's 12-Bar Instrumental [1963/64 Home Recording]

CD: Features all tracks listed above.

$10 postage. Free shipping on orders over $150.

* Our Collingwood shop has large selection of vinyl with over 1,000 titles to choose from.

Category: Pre-Order

Type: Vinyl