Slum Village - Fan-Tas-Tic Vol 1 (Vinyl)


| /

1 left

Slum Village - Fan-Tas-Tic Vol 1 (2LP Vinyl)

A founding member of the trio, (Alongside rappers T3 and Baatin) Dilla provided the group's distinctly esoteric, free-wheeling sound, built around winding basslines, quirky drumbeats, subtle low-end frequencies, and classic jazz & soul samples. Against the backdrop of Dilla's rich production, T3 and Baatin's free-flowing style of rhyming would also earn wide critical praise, leading to comparisons as the successors to A Tribe Called Quest. (A label they themselves have rejected.) It's on Slum Village's 1997 studio debut, Fan-Tas-Tic Vol. 1, that all these elements come together in the most proficient manner. An instant hit among Detroit's underground hip-hop scene, the album seemed to combine all the best elements of the reigning alternative and gangsta styles of hip-hop into one cohesive style that was a hit among critics. Fan-Tas-Tic's influence extended far beyond Detroit, as its sound heavily influenced the sounds of D'Angelo, Erykah Badu, and The Roots just to name a few. 



  1. Fantastic
  2. Keep It On (This Beat)
  3. I Don't Know
  4. How We Bullshit
  5. Fat Cat Song (featuring Phat Kat)
  6. The Look Of Love
  7. Estimate
  8. Hoc N Pucky
  9. Beej N Dem
  10. Pregnant
  11. Forth & Back
  12. Fantastic 2 (Interlude)
  13. Fantastic 3 (Interlude)


  1. Keep It On
  2. 5 Ela (Remix)
  3. Give This Nigga
  4. Players
  5. Look Of Love (Remix)
  6. Pregnant (Remix)
  7. Things U Do (Remix)
  8. Fat Cat (Remix)
  9. Fantastic 4 (Interlude)
  10. What's Love Got To Do With It (Look Of Love Remix)
  11. 2 You 4 You

$10 postage. Free shipping on orders over $150.

* Our Collingwood shop has large selection of vinyl with over 1,000 titles to choose from.

Type: Vinyl

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet