Soul Jazz Records Presents - Studio One Rockers: The Original (2LP Vinyl)


| /

1 COPY LEFT (Online & Collingwood Shop)

Soul Jazz Records Presents - Studio One Rockers: The Original (2LP Vinyl)

Owned and founded by Clement "Coxsone" Dodd, Studio One's output serves as a comprehensive guide to the history of Reggae music. The music on Studio One Rockers covers all areas of Reggae such as Ska, Rocksteady, Roots and Dancehall, all areas in which Studio One led the field.

Studio One Rockers features many legendary Studio One tracks brought together for the first time by Soul Jazz Records. From the beginning of Reggae, when the Skatalites developed a new sound of Ska in 1962 up until today, Studio One has been the number one innovator in Jamaican music.

Included in this compilation are classic Ska tracks ("Phoenix City"), Rocksteady ("Feel Like Jumping"), Roots music ("Truth and Rights"), Dancehall (Freddy McGregor, Michigan and Smiley) and many more.

Featured here are many of the classic tracks from Studio One. From Dawn Penn's legendary "No, No, No" to classics such as Horace Andy's "Skylarking" and Marcia Griffith's "Feel Like Jumping".

The Coxsone Soundsystem in the early 60s was one of the three main soundsystems operating in Jamaica alongside his competitors, Prince Buster and Duke Reid. The Studio One catalogue is possibly the largest in Jamaican music and this release is the first in a series of Studio One compilations on Soul Jazz Records.

Compilation of the month. 100% Essential SEVEN "Compilation of the month. A compilation of unbelievable quality. Awesome" MUZIK "A who's who of Jamaican music" MUSICWEEK "An essential slice of musical history" WAX "The most credible compilation of reggae you can.


  1. Sound Dimension - Real Rock
  2. Marcia Griffiths - Feel Like Jumping
  3. Freddy McGregor - Bobby Babylon
  4. Horace Andy - Skylarking
  5. Lennie Hibbert - Village Soul
  6. Brentford All-Stars - Greedy G
  7. Johnny Osbourne - Truth and Rights
  8. Ernest Ranglin - Surfin
  9. Michigan & Smiley - Eye of Danger
  10. Dawn Penn - No, No, No
  11. The Skatalites - Phoenix City
  12. Prince Jazzbo - Crabwalking
  13. Jackie Mittoo - Hot Milk
  14. Lone Ranger - Badder Dan Dem
  15. Cedric Brooks - Ethiopia

Type: Vinyl

Click & Collect 7 Days 11am-5pm
Careful Packing We ship safely
Highly Rated Google 4.9 Stars
Gift Vouchers Online & Instore