Stepney, Charles - Step On Step (Black 2LP Vinyl)


| /


Charles Stepney - Step On Step (Black 2LP Vinyl)

Chicago-born composer, producer and arranger Charles Stepney is known to some for his work with Earth, Wind & Fire, Deniece Williams, Ramsey Lewis, Rotary Connection, Minnie Riperton, Muddy Waters, Howlin Wolf, Terry Callier, and many more. In the decades since his untimely death in 1976, the presence of his name in liner notes has become a seal of quality for record collectors, while his sound has been sampled extensively by artists such as Kanye West, A Tribe Called Quest, The Fugees, MF Doom, and Madlib. Step on Step – which comes almost 50 years after Stepney’s passing – is the enigmatic producer's eponymous debut album. It's an album full of creative compositional seedlings – originally written, performed, and recorded by Stepney in the basement of his home in Chicago, between the late 1960s and early 1970s, using just primitive drum machines, early-gen Moog synthesizers, pianos, vibraphones, and a few other instrumental accessories.



  1. Roll Tape
  2. Gimme Some Sugar
  3. Daddy’s Diddies
  4. Gotta Dig It To Dig It
  5. No Credit For This
  6. Roadtrip
  7. On Your Face
  8. That’s The Way Of The World
  9. Imagination
  10. In The Basement
  11. Business
  12. Look B4U Leap


  1. Around The House
  2. Funky Sci-Fi
  3. Mini Mugg
  4. Chicago Independent
  5. Surround Stereo
  6. Black Gold
  7. Denim Groove
  8. Notes From Dad
  9. Rubie & Charles
  10. Greatness
  11. Step on Step

Type: Vinyl

Click & Collect 7 Days 11am-5pm
Careful Packing We ship safely
Highly Rated Google 4.9 Stars
Gift Vouchers Online & Instore