Young, Neil - Live At Carnegie Hall 1970 (2LP) (Vinyl)


| /

Neil Young - Live At Carnegie Hall 1970 (2LP) (Vinyl)

Over Neil Young’s long and storied career, a few special shows have earned an almost mythic reputation, thanks to the dubious but nevertheless appreciated (in retrospect) practice of bootlegging.

Carnegie Hall, the first release, recorded on original analog multitrack, was mixed by “The Volume Dealers” -- Neil Young and Niko Bolas. This recording was made from the show on December 4th, 1970 and it was the first time Neil ever walked onstage at Carnegie Hall. There were two shows at Carnegie Hall, one on the 4th and one followed at Midnight the next morning. No bootleggers ever captured this first show, and it was, by far, a much superior show according to NY.

The concert’s generous setlist covers one of the most revered eras of Young’s career, with stripped-down versions of the tunes “Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere,” “Down By the River,” “Helpless” and “Sugar Mountain’” plus “After the Goldrush,” from the album of the same name, released only nine weeks prior to the Carnegie Hall show. Neil even plays the poignant songs “Bad Fog of Loneliness,” “Old Man” and “See the Sky About to Rain” before they were recorded and released. Carnegie Hall is an album full of gems.


  1. Down by the River
  2. Cinnamon Girl
  3. I Am a Child
  4. Expecting to Fly
  5. The Loner
  6. Wonderin'
  7. Helpless
  8. Southern Man
  9. Nowadays Clancy Can't Even Sing
  10. Sugar Mountain
  11. On the Way Home
  12. Tell Me Why
  13. Only Love Can Break Your Heart
  14. Old Man
  15. After the Gold Rush
  16. Flying on the Ground Is Wrong
  17. Cowgirl in the Sand
  18. Don't Let It Bring You Down
  19. Birds
  20. Bad Fog of Loneliness
  21. Ohio
  22. See the Sky About to Rain
  23. Dance Dance Dance

$10 postage. Free shipping on orders over $150.

* Our Collingwood shop has large selection of vinyl with over 1,000 titles to choose from.

Type: Vinyl

Customer Reviews

Based on 2 reviews
ryan page
Essential Young!

A beautiful recording and great performance. Very enthusiastic crowd which is funny at times. As expected from Neil Young it's a flat and spotless record.

John Forbes
A gem from the vault

Terrific Record - sounds amazing, great songs, performace and pressing.

Thanks Happy Valley!