Youth Lagoon - Savage Hills Ballroom (Vinyl)


| /


Youth Lagoon - Savage Hills Ballroom (Vinyl)

Often perceived as a recluse (his first LP is called 'The Year of Hibernation,' after all), on 'Savage Hills Ballroom' Trevor Powers has fully opened himself to the world for the first time ever. The 10-track collection is his most ambitious, unguarded work to date, recorded in Bristol, UK and mixed / engineered by Ali Chant (PJ Harvey, Gravenhurst).

While touring on his last record, 2013's 'Wondrous Bughouse,' Powers got a call that one of his closest friends had unexpectedly passed away, forcing him to cancel the rest of the tour and head back to Idaho. He says, "that experience made me start viewing Youth Lagoon differently - it was a complete refocus for me." This sense of gilded rebirth floods the instrumentation on 'Savage Hills Ballroom' - Power's vocals are largely unadorned and his pop-conscious electronics reach new feats of precision.


  1. Officer Telephone
  2. Highway Patrol Stun Gun
  3. The Knower
  4. No One Can Tell
  5. Doll's Estate
  6. Rotten Human
  7. Kerry
  8. Again
  9. Free Me
  10. X-Ray

Type: Vinyl